Science Faculty

The science faculty is a team of 15 specialist teachers, led by a Curriculum Leader, who is assisted by subject leaders in the three separate science disciplines of biology, chemistry and physics. At Key Stage 3, students undertake a course of study supported in part by the ‘Exploring Science’ series, utilising both textbooks and the full set of teacher support materials. Students receive three lessons of combined science per week in years 7 and 8; this allocation increases to five lessons when students move into Year 9 and to six lessons when students move onto GCSE study in Year 10 and 11.

At Key Stage 4, students also have the opportunity to select science as one of their ‘option’ choices; those who do so receive an extra three lessons of science per week and will study the three separate AQA GCSEs in biology, chemistry and physics. Students who have not taken ‘Triple Science’ as an option choice study the AQA GCSE Combined Science: Trilogy.

Homework is an important means by which students can deepen their learning and improve their understanding of topics studied.  More information can be found here.


Our vision in science is to support all our young people to become independent and enthusiastic scientists. We aim to produce scientists who are confident, resilient and use logic to solve problems. Through our carefully planned, sequenced curriculum, our young people will learn new skills and apply a broad knowledge base to new situations which will allow them to enter a wide range of workplaces and to become responsible global citizens.

Photo by Hans Reniers on Unsplash